Time

I just finished watching the entire excellent video. About Italy, I asked myself “Where does Galileo fit into all this and Dante?” Many timelines mark the beginning of the Renaissance with the birth of Galileo. I never realized that Wm. F. Buckley, Jr. was Roman Catholic until I picked up his book “Nearer to Thee.” I think the video is very clever. I am reminded of “The Peter Principle” which says that each person is promoted to their highest level of incompetence. I mean, it makes a lot of sense to say that a person is promoted until they are no longer qualified or able to go higher. But is the Peter Principle a true reflection of life? Siddhartha Gautama, the historical Buddha, around 6th century BCE set forth perhaps the first example of cognitive therapy, namely, changing how you look at things can change how you feel (e.g. “My glass is half full not half empty.”) One of the wisest things I ever read was on Jamaal Barnes’ thread when he was graduating:”Don’t be sorry it’s over; be glad it happened.” Viktor Frankl, author of “Man’s Search for Meaning” speaks of “rescuing things to the past.” Nothing that ever happens can rob me of the 4 years I spent at SJC ’67 to ’71 except perhaps Alzheimer’s and of course death. Various forms of Zen Buddhism try to free people from the “monkey mind” which constantly tries to analyze and teaches people to be in the present moment. Oh yeah, and Augustine said “Time is the moving image of eternity” (I think, but I would have to google to be certain.)

Leave a Reply

