Books That Change Things

I read “The Jungle” by Upton Sinclair (whom I always confuse with Sinclair Lewis… and the two were actually in the same commune one summer)… I read it in 7th or 8th grade some time between 1961-63. I know that a president (Teddy Roosevelt?) invited Upton Sinclair to a congratulatory meeting (but scolded him to be a little less Communist) and all because his book helped call public attention to a genuine problem and resulted in the Pure Food and Drug Act (or some such thing… I like to dredge my memory BEFORE I google)… When Lincoln met Harriet Beecher Stowe he said “Ah! And here is the little lady who started the civil war! (with Uncle Tom’s Cabin)” And finally, Rachel Carson’s “Silent Spring” awakened public attention and lead to the creation of “The Environmental Protection Agency” [and now perhaps I shall google and find out what reallly happened… so… go thou and do likewise]

Leave a Reply

