Quakers and Shakers

Somewhere I read that it was the Quakers who first introduced the idea of FIXED prices for items in the market place rather than bartering in order to promote fairness.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fixed_price

Also (and this may have come from the Forbes museum) Quakers were so compulsively honest that business people overseas were eager to extend credit on shipments knowing that their payment was a certainty. The terms “Quaker” and “Shaker” both come from verses about “fear and trembling”

My flesh trembles for fear of You, And I am afraid of Your judgments. Psalm 119:120

When Daniel (Daniel 10:7) saw a vision it caused a great trembling

So said the LORD. “But this is the man I will look on [favorably]:
he who is of a poor and contrite spirit, and trembles at my word.”
Isa 66:2

Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed,
not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence,
continue to work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.
Phil 2:12

[and here are a bunch more]

http://www.hallvworthington.com/Scripture_Grouping/tremble.html

Leave a Reply

