Finding Happiness and Avoiding Sorrow

Each day I see you asking the same questions in search of something that seems to elude you … I wish I could find something to say that would help you…. Look at our nation of endless stump speeches and elections filled with promises of “a chicken in every pot”… lots of talk, lots of problems, wars, corruption, pollution .. illness…
Language is useful and talk helps but it doesnt help much…

Every company has a “statement of purpose” even fast food hamburger joints! How much of it is just crap and rhetoric?

The little Falafel stall across the street from me has a website, I have a website, everyone has a website, … there is a doughnut truck that TWEETS its location and specials and people follow it about….

And what do all these words and promises and stump speeches accomplish..

A woman with a great sorrow once came to the Buddha for advice. He told her to bring him one single grain of rice from a household that had never known sorrow. She traveled the land far and wide knocking on every door and each family told her of their sorrows and tragedies. Finally, the woman realized that she would never find that single grain of rice. She failed in her impossible task but she was able to put her sorrows and joys into perspective.

Sometimes you say that people come up and hug and kiss and you are uncertain and uncomfortable. Other times you speak with great longing for some kind of connection and intimacy.

IF it is the case that you are in some kind of double-bind where you desire and fear the same thing… (and what that thing might be I cannot say)… then you are doomed to forever vacillate and pine away for something that cannot be.

So perhaps make a list of what it is you really want that would make you happy and another list of what you dislike and want to avoid. Next make plans for how to achieve that list of desires and avoid that list of undesirable things.

As a nation, as a world, we are spinning in circles of stump speeches, rhetoric, buzz-words, definitions, criticisms, complaints and we are stalled. Perhaps an entire nation or world is doomed to be like that. But there are individuals who have a little shack or hut or apartment and a small family with a dog or cat or some chickens, and they find some kind of happiness and fulfillment and peace with those simple things.

I am trying to help you the only way I know how. Perhaps I am doing it all wrong. But I do read what you write each day and give it some serious thought.

++++

1.) this is FB and not a doctoral dissertation, so I am free to sit here in my underware drinking coffee and type 80 wpm and say whatever I am thinking or feeling… and anyone is free to read or not read, and comment or not comment, and agree, or tell me I am a driveling idiot, or say something truly profound… so I dont think it is a matter of rocket science for anyone to envision the context and mood of what I say.

2.) there is nothing wrong with stream of consciousness or run on sentences… Apostle Paul has some huge paragraph long sentences…. James Joyce wrote the way he wrote (and we all here know how that was) and people laughed at him and now people wonder at the fact that he never won a Nobel…. so there is nothing in the world wrong with stream of consciousness, and people pay a lot of money to lie on a therapists couch and do that.

3.) I have quickly read your post Alex, and I am grateful that you keep me on your list and take the time to say anything.. and I shall reread it several times since I am simultaneously cooking breakfast for my wife, but SO FAR all i see is a load of platitudes which is what we were all trained to do, and you have not contributed anything to the substance of what I have said so far which is

a.) it does not good to complain and criticize and never offer solutions
b.) our nation and our world are seriously broken and we need some kind of new model of governance
c.) the clock is ticking for the human race…. our sun will one day become a white dwarf… etc …

Leave a Reply

