Someone on Facebook has passed away

Sorry for this loss. Heavy stuff. For some reason I am suddenly remembering the opening of Faust trying to translate John 1:1 which commences “in the beginning was the Word” and concludes with “in the beginning was the deed.” I guess God wants us to apply God’s will to our own actions. I mean, aside from Biblical miracles like parting the Red Sea, our personal actions and deeds are God’s instrument and God does not personally intervene. I had to stop drinking two years ago. Some things beyond my control brought me to despise alcohol. We can console ourselves with thoughts of God’s will but the ball is always in our court. I hope I give no offense to any by applying my mind to this early in the morning. It is not easy to say something more than a platitude which is why platitudes are so popular.

Leave a Reply

