Thought Itself as Prayer

Paul recommended to “pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17)
And in Philippians 4:8 “.. whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”

Now it seems to me that any educated and intellectually honest person must admit that they are in some sense AGNOSTIC since they cannot prove or disprove the existence of God or anything about God’s nature.

I notice that I do have some freewill control over where my thoughts wander. If I push my thoughts in a noble or constructive direction then my mental life is like a sunny day but if I push my thoughts in a shameful or destructive direction then my mind becomes like Snoopy’s “dark and stormy night.” If there is a God then I am sure that my brain is like a little two way radio and God is tuned into my every thought. Now if there is no God and the universe is total random chaos and chance and my consciousness is an accidental side effect of that chaos; yet still there is some virtue and self-empowerment in my thinking and acting AS if I am on some security camera.

I do have a second voice inside me which speaks to me from time to time which I suppose many will refer to as a “conscience.”

Yesterday I had to do some house-cleaning. I found a pair of Nike sneakers which still had a lot of wear left in them but which I can no longer wear because of problems which developed in my feet. I did not have the heart to just throw them out if possibly some person in he city is without shoes. I spoke to a number of the security guards (who happen to be low on the pay scale and who know others that are more needy) but none of them could thing of someone in need of a size 12 4E. I walked towards Chinatown looking at passers-by to see if I should offer the shoes to one of them. Finally I came to an area where I have sometimes noticed homeless wandering. The thought came to me to place the plastic bag with the shoes on the fence post and hope that someone will find them and put them to some use.

I shall never know in this life whether a God does or does not exist or what is pleasing or irksome to such a being but I am certain that IF there is such a being then my every thought is on that security monitor. Therefore I see prayer as equivalent to thought. I see no need to close and squint one’s eyes and purse ones lips. I spent 20 years around Greek and Russian bishops and priests and never once saw anyone with their eyes closed except when sleeping. Jesus also said somewhere that God ALREADY knows our needs, and provides for the birds and other creatures who are not possessed of speech or language of supplication. So I join with psychologist Alfred Adler who when asked “What do you have to say regarding God” replied “If there is a God I should hope He is pleased with how I have chosen to lead my life.”

Tags:

Leave a Reply

