Do we all worship the same God?

One of the oldest know and most often visited temples in India (dating back to 8th century C.E. I think) Sri Vinkanteshera at Tirupati, has an inscription on one wall which says something like “All offerings everywhere come to me” which is echoed in the Bhagavad Gita 4-11

http://www.bhagavad-gita.org/Gita/verse-04-11.html

And to paraphrase the Qur’an Surah 5 verse 48 in my own words from Pickthall “If I had wished to, I could have created all people as one religion, but for my own purposes, I created you as different religions. So if you must compete with one another then compete in doing good works. When you return to me, I shall explain my reason for the differences in religions.” (I became aware of this interpretation from a PBS special with Huston Smith of M.I.T. though devout Muslims will violently object to this interpretation arguing that the Qur’an may only be properly understood in the Arabic.)

http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/text?doc=Perseus:text:2002.02.0003:sura%3D5:verse%3D48

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Do we all worship the same God?”

  1. umersultan Says:

    Hello William,
    The verse of the Quran Chapter 5 verse 48 is actually this in the translation of Pickthall:

    “Had Allah (God) willed He could have made you one community. But that He may try you by that which He hath given you (He hath made you as ye are). So vie one with another in good works. Unto Allah ye will all return, and He will then inform you of that wherein ye differ.”

    God created different people and not the same and it is that this verse is talking about.

    There is a concept of One God in Hinduism as well.

    I think these two links below will be helpful for you:
    Center for Jewish-Muslim Engagement

    Quran Explorer

Leave a Reply

