Wire rim hippie eye-glasses

Around 1961 at the age of 12 I walked into the optometrist and asked for wire rimmed glasses. He showed me a pair but warned me “all the other kids will laugh at you because only old nuns and army veterans wear these.” I explained that I could care less what others think of me and they seem practical and functional. Several years later people would say “oh, I see you are becoming a hippie” and I would reply that I chose my glasses when only the elderly and old-fashioned wore them. I continued to wear them until 2 years ago when I could no longer get sturdy lenses for them at which time I switched to a more conventional frame.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

