The Importance of Backing Up

This is not quite as eloquent as “The Importance of Being Ernest”
but it is far more important.

My total Ubuntu crash sobered me to the realization that I am not backing up everthing that I should be.

For one examble, my bookmarks on http://delicious.com/billbuell

If I click on settings there is an EXPORT feature. I download, right click on the download, choose OPEN CONTAINING FOLDER and then copy it to my USB flash drive, to a folder of MYBACKUPS to a folder called DELICIOUS to a folder dated with todays date 20091123.

And Oh, by the way, I am in Ubuntu, and they are so clever to have the time and date right on the desktop at the upper right (so unlike Windows, where I have to hover over the Date on the lower right taskbar, and half the time it does not show!)

And it never occured to me that my Ubuntu email server offers a backup and restore method.

After I finished backing up Evolution Email client (to a gz tar zip on my flash drive USB), I noticed some instability, and closed and then relaunched Evolution, but now it seems to be OK.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

