Konversation IRC client trouble with AWAY msg

I experimented with resetting my AWAY message in Konversation client, and then fell asleep after an all night 7 hour reinstall of my crashed Ubuntu.

In the morning when I checked my still running IRC session, I saw that one of their BOTS had issued me the following warning:

[14:38] wants you to know: You should avoid noisy away messages in a busy channel like #ubuntu, or other Ubuntu channels; it causes excessive scrolling which is unfair to new users. Use the command “/away ” to set your client away silently. See also «/msg ubottu Guidelines»
[14:38] [Away] You are no longer marked as being away.

I am posting this to save and document the incident and information.

chatted with me and found it strange that my unattended machine should issue the away message 3 times.
I also wonder why that should be.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

