Startech.com/support Ubuntu Intenet Connection

I looked at all the WiFi and Ethernet products at J&R Computer World and found only ONE that mentions Linux, and it is 10/100 MBPS Ethernet PCI ST100S Netware ODI for DOS Linux

Here is the support question I submitted to

http://www.startech.com/support

http://www.startech.com/item/10PACK100BT-10-Pack-of-ST100S-10100-PCI-Ethernet-Cards.aspx

I want to do an Ubuntu Install, use your ST100S 10/100 MBPS Ethernet PCI, and connect it to my Westell modem running Verizon DSL and working fine with my Windows machine. 2 questions: 1) Can I easily do the unstall in Ubuntu. 2) WILL MY WESTELL MODEM BE ALTERED IN ANY WAY, by the install,.. am I in danger of losing all internet?
Can you suggest any other product or USB Wifi that well help me connect an Ubuntu Linux install to Internet through my Westell 327W Verizon Modem?

If I can make it work, I will spread your Company’s name and praise in many Ubuntu Forums!

P.S. – Ubuntu looks so promising to me that it is hard to believe not one single WIFI or Ethernet product mentions ANYTHING except XP Vista Windows3 etc.

http://yosemitefoothills.com/WalmartPC/WalmartLinuxPC-2512.html

The additional Ethernet port was obtained by installing a $12 Startech ST100S 10/100 Mbps Ethernet PCI Card from amazon.com. This card uses a RTL8100C chip and works with the 8139too Linux driver already being used by the motherboard Ethernet interface.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

