One Mole of Soul

One Mole of Soul

While in the hall I chanced to meet,
One man of science, calm and neat,
And in our talk I chanced to ask him,
‘How much soul hath thee?’

He answered thus and look at me
In smug superiority
‘I’ve none I’m told,’
He answered bold,
‘Tis mere philosophy.’

“I thought you’d have it measured now
In quant’ and quality
And placed it comfy in a jug
With cork of apathy.”

He answered not, but walked away.
I guess he’d not agree,
But, though he’s bold and smug and cold,
One mole of soul hath he, it shows
One mole of soul hath he.

(written circa 1965)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

