Guess At What I Am

Guess At What I Am

Somewhere long from now
And far from here,
Someone strange
Will guess at what I am
And guess correctly.
But not in this time
While I still live,
Not by friends or
Those who love me,
Or by enemies
Or unconcerned.
Those who are close
See in me what they will
And for those who rummage
Through dead manuscripts
I am not immediate
I am living yet
There is no necessity.
Scholars and critics
Will watch and comment
And move on
To the more demanding past.

But somewhere, long from now
And far from here
A questioner who has yet to be born
Perhaps in another language
Perhaps in a form more foreign to myself
Than any now,
Will read me and will guess
At what I am
And guess correctly.

(written Monday, June 27, 1966 at 4:00pm)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

