Happiness and Regret

Someone I know wrote: is wishing she had savored that moment. I thought it would come again, that feeling, so I did not hold onto it when I had the chance.

And I asked her:

Is this some song lyrics?

I mean, every moment, once it is gone, is like that.

I think about all the years during my childhood when I could have done so much reading,…. but I was not prepared for it. I was not the same person then that I am now.

I think about the 3 years with my girlfriend in college, and how things might possibly have gone differently…. but I was not the person then that I am now. If I had known then what I know now, perhaps I would have lived my life an entirely different way! But that is pointless, because I cannot turn back the clock, and I could not know then what I know now, and furthermore,,…. if my life had gone in a different direction, then I would not necessarily be the person I am today and know what I know.

And no matter how many months or years of success, sweetness, fortune, fame, love that we have, when its gone, when its over, then all we have are the memories, and sometimes the memory of having had great happiness and then losing it makes us more miserable than if we had never known happiness at all.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Happiness and Regret”

  1. Rich Says:

    Very true…..

    I think about recent moments & also very old moments.
    I recieved a very pleasant surprise this Monday….tell ya about that
    later, lol……

    My mother turns 85 next month & this has me thinking of some older moments. I remember my first friend from grade school & I going out
    to McDonald’s….that was the height of excitement!!! also remember same friend insisiting that we play football on concrete…I survived, lol..

    I guess the Q is – are we merely a reflection of our experiences…Or are
    we something above & beyond the daily, monthly, and yearly impact they have had (and continue to have) ?

Leave a Reply

